The Yankees and ESPN

In light of my previous post, I thought it might be a good idea to explain that when I rant about ESPN having an “anti-Yankee bias,” I don’t mean to imply any sort of conspiracy theory type angle. ESPN caters towards Yankee haters and I don’t blame them. They want to make money and they’ve created a gigantic market segment. Almost every Sportscenter, they come up with some way to mention the Yankees and in general they try to focus on how rich and talented the Bombers are.

If the story is the Yanks are winning, is it even fair? If they are losing, then that’s a story in itself. How could the Yankees lose?

I’m not a fan of the culture of hate that exists today, where everyone wants to find teams to despise, but fact is the Yankees are the easiest target for that kind of hate.

While I find the whole practice pretty despicable, I understand it. So when I complain about pointless “reports” of A-Rod out earning the Marlins, I know why it’s done. I just feel the need to point it out.

Leave a Reply

