Opening up the mailbag

Running a high-profile sports blog like Rivera’s Cutter leads to a lot of fan mail.  Apparently, people just cannot get enough of my insightful commentary.  Let’s take a look, shall we?

Here’s one responding to my post last offseason urging the Yankees to stay away from Mike Lowell:

I know this was left a while ago, but I just came across it. You are a tool, just like most Yankee fans. You don’t do any research before you open your stupid mouth. If you’d done your homework, you’d realize Lowell was born in Puerto Rico. I don’t think that makes him a white guy. Nice try. I think you’re stupidity is reflected by your team that hasn’t won a World Series in 8 years and the Sox have 2 in the last 4.

Clearly, I am loved.  Let me respond, as best I can:

First off, thank you for your insightful comment.  Secondly, thanks for the sweeping generalizations regarding the fan base I am a part of.

I must say I agree with you; being born in Puerto Rico certainly doesn’t make Mike Lowell a white guy.  It’s that he’s white.  His father comes from Cuba and his ancestors are German and Irish.  Being born some place does not make your skin a certain color.  Not that any of this really matters, but if we’re gonna accuse people of not doing research…

As always, keep those messages coming.

Leave a Reply

