Be wary of World Series MVPs

In my auction fantasy draft, I stayed away from bidding for Cole Hamels.  Don’t get me wrong: I think Hamels is excellent.  It’s just that history tells us young pitchers who have a gigantic increase in their workload and have to pitch deep in the postseason don’t usually have a lot of success the following year.  Fausto Carmona was last year’s poster boy for this.

So I’m not particularly surprised to hear that Hamels is being shut down to have his elbow examined in Philadelphia.  Hopefully it will end up being nothing serious, because Hamels is fun to watch, but I’d be surprised if he got over the 200IP mark this season.

Of course, as far as fantasy auctions are concerned, I bid whatever was necessary to secure Tim Lincecum on my team, despite the fact that he had a big workload bump last season as well.  I guess rules are meant to be broken.

Leave a Reply

